CAF has announced on Monday the 11 finalists selected for the title of African Player of the Year among which include the main favorites like Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mané and Mohamed Salah.

After presenting a list of 30 nominees for the title of African Player of the Year, CAF unveiled this Monday the list of 11 finalists without major surprise to report. In the absence of the title holder, Riyad Mahrez, not retained in the 30, the favorites Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Man, Mohamed Salah and Naby Keita are all present.

With Mané and Keita Baldé, Senegal is the only country to place two representatives, while the Moroccan Karim El Ahmadi is a big surprise. Sacred local player of the year in 2016, Ugandan goalkeeper Denis Onyango is the only player to evolve on the continent present in this list where Jean Michaël Seri is missing.

The selection was made thanks to the “votes of the members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee, the Panel of CAF Experts and Independent Media TV Consultants,” says CAF.

It is now up to the breeders or technical directors of the national associations, the captains of the national selections and the ten members of the group of independent media and television consultants to proceed to the final vote from this shortened list.

The winner will be announced on January 4, 2018 at the CAF Aiteo Awards gala evening in Accra, Ghana.

– The 11 finalists for the title of African Player of the Year

Bertrand Traoré (Burkina Faso and Olympique Lyonnais)
Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)
Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco and Feyenoord)
Keita Balde (Senegal and Monaco)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
Naby Keita (Guinea and RB Leipzig)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)
Sadio Mané (Senegal and Liverpool)
Victor Moses (Nigeria and Chelsea)
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and FC Porto)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and FC Porto)

In parallel, CAF has also published its list of 10 finalists for the title of Player of the Year based in Africa. A rather logical selection with the presence of two African champions from Wydad Casablanca (Mohamed Ounnajem and Achraf Bencharki), three vice-champions of Africa with Al Ahly (Ali Maaloul, Ahmed Fathi and Junior Ajayi), as well as Ben Malango who will represent the TP Mazembe, again crowned in the CAF Cup.

Present among the 10 finalists for the title of African Player of the Year, Denis Onyango also appears and logically in this list where we also find the Burkinabe Aristide Bancé.

– The 10 finalists for the title of African Player of the Year (based in Africa)

Achraf Bencharki (Marocco and Wydad Athletic Club)
Ahmed Fathi (Egypt and Al Ahly)
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia and Al Ahly)
Aristide Bancé (Burkina Faso and El Masry)
Ben Malango (DR Congo and TP Mazembe)
Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)
Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand and SuperSport Utd)
Junior Ajayi (Nigeria and Al Ahly)
Mohamed Ounnajem (Maroo and Wydad Athletic Club)
Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia and Hope)

Facebook Comments