Who will succeed Riyad Mahrez? Elected African Player of the Year 2016, the Algerian of Leicester city FC is not on the list of 30 nominated for the 2017 edition unveiled on Wednesday by the CAF.

In this one, we find however the winner of the 2016 edition, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. The Gabon striker will serve as a favorite against Sadio Mané, with whom he is also in the running for the Ballon d’Or France Football, or against Mohamed Salah.

Players like Naby Keita, Thomas Partey, Baldé Keita, Cedric Bakambu, Bertrand Traore and Jean Michel Seri, winner of the 2017 Foé Prize, are also part of this list. With three elements, including the best CAN 2017 Christian Bassogog player, Cameroon is also represented.

The winner will be announced on January 4, 2018 at the CAF Aiteo Awards gala evening in Accra, Ghana.

The CAF specifies that “the national breeders or national technical directors of the 54 CAF member associations, the members of the Technical Commission and Development and a panel of media experts and TV consultants” are called to vote.

– The 30 nominated for the title of African Player of the Year

1. Ali Maaloul (Tunisie & Al Ahly)
2. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Lyon)
3. Cédric Bakambu (RD Congo & Villareal)
4. Christian Atsu (Ghana & Newcastle)
5. Christian Bassogog (Cameroun & Henan Jianye)
6. Denis Onyango (Ouganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
7. Eric Bailly (Côte d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
8. Essam El Hadary (Egypte & Al Taawoun)
9. Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroun & Sevilla)
10. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambie & Zesco)
11. Jean Michel Seri (Côte d’Ivoire & Nice)
12. Junior Kabananga (RD Congo & Astana)
13. Karim El Ahmadi (Maroc & Feyenoord)
14. Keita Balde (Sénégal & Monaco)
15. Khalid Boutaib (Maroc & Yeni Malatyaspor)
16. Mbwana Samata (Tanzanie & Genk)
17. Michael Olunga (Kenya & Gérone)
18. Mohamed Salah (Egypte & Liverpool)
19. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
20. Naby Keita (Guinée & RB Leipzig)
21. Percy Tau (Afrique du Sud & Mamelodi Sundowns)
22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
23. Sadio Mane (Sénégal & Liverpool)
24. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
25. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
26. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroun & Porto)
27. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)
28. Yacine Brahimi (Algérie & Porto)
29. Youssef Msakni (Tunisie & Al Duhail)
30. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille)

Facebook Comments